Having authority in the eyes of others

Authority is about coming to the table with results which encourages respect from others.

When I e-mailed an academic in Ireland about a historical question he asked if I was an archaeologist.  When I was talking to an academic at the University of Essex he asked me if I was a PhD student.  The answer to both these questions was no, and my inability to rise to the expectation of the other person impacted my authority I had in their eyes.

For some reason some students at the University of Essex predicted I would be up there two years from now giving a lecture at the recent conference I attended.  Looking at the biography of each of the guests giving talks at the conference, they all had books, qualifications and offices on organisations to their name, in other words they had authority.

An associate of mine in business has constantly talked about approaching people only when effort has been made by building authority, so as to attract the respect and belief in the product or service being sold to them.

Another person I know insists that they will only deal with people who can show tangible results of what they have already done.  For instance the person who promises to make you rich, should in theory themselves be rich.

It is worth considering when coming to the table with another person if you have authority, or can create authority for whatever it is you are about to trade in with the other person.

2 responses to “Having authority in the eyes of others

  1. A good post to think about. Authority is about coming to [your personal, internal] table [where you stack your skills and refine them, earn your achievements and display them, and eat the fruits your effort has beared] with results that encourages [or demands, with no sycophantry or empathic need] respect from others. I weaved my thoughts in on that one.

Leave a Reply

