Are we subject to fate?

I consider the events in life to be random, unless I caused it to happen.

I trod on a snail today.  I guess the deceased snail had not anticipated that this was going to be a bad day.  I had not made it my aim to crush this snail either, I did not see it.  If I had seen the snail I would have avoided it.  Neither could it be considered the activity of a cruel third party agent, person, god of otherwise. This was random.  This had happened before, it had happened today, and this accidental killer of harmless snails would probably do it again.

This snail incident is an example of strife.  Heraclitus says “strife is justice”, meaning everything exists out of strife.  All objects in the universe are going about their business, and bang two of them meet, and one gets crushed.  Perhaps Heraclitus should mean “random strife is justice”.

There was no fate involved in the event of the recently deceased snail, however, I consider that I can by design produce outcomes.  One example of a simple design is if I am thirsty, I get a drink of water.  There are also situations I have no control over where I need a miracle, and often fate shines its happy face upon me to deliver a surprise “lucky” result.

Synchronicity is where two or more events that are unrelated merge to form a coincidence in the eyes of the participants or observer.  A resident of my town of Colchester had such a coincidence in the following newspaper report.

Leave a Reply

