Can you stay detached?

Sometimes it is hard to stay detached from people and events in life.

One of the things I learnt about Buddhism as I read the blogs of others on WordPress is that of detachment.  I am no Buddhist, and never will be, but detachment is a useful discipline to have.

Today, I came across a blog claiming that time travel had been proven, which I considered crazy, since I view time as a fiction, and offered comment along those lines. The person in question responded by dismissing, but not offering an alternative to my argument.  It is in those moments that detachment is useful, to accept that an argument has been offered, and if rejected, move on.  Some people allow ego to get involved, and a difference of opinion can degenerate into a flame war.

In another blog today the writer gave the impression they was going to kill themselves.  I offered an insight that people have the power to dig themselves out of any hole, to seek help when needed, and that life is a precious thing.  I was told I was wrong.  Detachment came into play.  It is easy to become so involved in something as to force your will onto another, to take away their power to decide for themselves.

In my philosophy of the Liberated Way I will build illuminated bridges, by revealing knowledge or practical wisdom, but I am unable to force, trick or carry anyone across those bridges.  I created a bridge for that apparently suicidal thinking person, and there I left it, for they are the agent of their success or their doom.

Humility is useful, for my arguments to both the time travel blog, and the suicidal blog could be wrong.

20 responses to “Can you stay detached?

  1. The problem with detachment AJ, is remaining human in the midst of turmoil. It is one thing to remain detached, but you will lose your footing if people catch on. The tragic comic mask hides a profound solution to this dilemma.

  2. I think being detached is got to do a lot with resisting temptation and we all know how that goes 😉
    We are tempted at every step. Media has penetrated our lives so deep that being dettached sometimes is out of the question. Even if you are able to detach yourself from it, you will still get back to it in a matter of minutes!! You can’t survive without speaking to someone over the phone, surfing the net for information, reading, tv, entertainment, etc. because all these constitute daily living. So if we were to be dettached, we will have to lose it all. Can we??

    • I think like everything there is a middle way. My approach is just to offer knowledge and wisdom, but then stop. If I was to go further I would be forcing my will onto another, taking away their power to make their own minds up. Also, I could get sucked into parasitic situations where I carry people where the likely outcome is I end up in the hole.

      • It get a little confusing because sometimes people want you to show them a direction and sometimes they don’t. It’s quiet difficult sometimes to judge which one is applicable at that moment. For example. i have a friend, who no matter what the circumstance, will never take my opinion (don’t know, maybe it’s his ego) then there is this other friend of mine who likes to discuss things with me and know my opinion. Both are similar characters but still make very very different choices. And this happens a lot of times with me!

      • Hi ROAS, this is why I think detachment is a good thing, as I can offer the direction, and I then “let go” leaving the individual(s) to make their own mind up to take that direction or not. Things can spin rapidly out of control if I go beyond direction to force my will on others, or trick them, or “carry” them.

  3. Wasn’t it teleportation that they achieved, rather than time travel?

  4. Its very hard to do, I am trying consciously constantly….it gets easier for me but then gets harder. :)its a cycle for me.

  5. Below is an extract of your post with my comments, numbered for identity in a single text. I tried to put them in bold but it did not work :
    “One of the things I learnt about Buddhism as I read the blogs of others on WordPress is that of detachment.  I am no Buddhist, and never will be, but detachment is a useful discipline to have.

    1. You are no Buddhist? You do not have to be, but do not make the mistake of excluding yourself in this way: All truths are common to the essence of all teachings (hence, . . . . ‘It does not matter what colour the cow is, the milk is white.’ and why my book was given the title “The Milk Is White”.). One can accept something from a teaching without belonging and one can also be frightened of belonging! There is no need to deny accepting something attributed to someone. This is because, with realisation that realised becomes ours.
    2. Yes, non-attachment is a major part of the spiritual path.

    Today, I came across a blog claiming that time travel had been proven, which I considered crazy, since I view time as a fiction, and offered comment along those lines.
    Time does not exist for the many reasons I have set out. In the perceived reality of the Earthly experience it is a tool we created.
      The person in question responded by dismissing, but not offering an alternative to my argument.  It is in those moments that detachment is useful, to accept that an argument has been offered, and if rejected, move on.  Some people allow ego to get involved, and a difference of opinion can degenerate into a flame war.”

    3. The fact that one does not accept or understand something does not negate its validity.
    4. I trust that this is helpful,
    5. You write well, congratulations!

    • Thanks for your reply. I am that sort of person who likes a life that flows like water. Often a philosophy has gems, but other aspects I am unable at the time identify with, so I borrow the gems and leave the rest behind.

      I like your quote: “It does not matter what colour the cow is, the milk is white.”

  6. Hi Alex,
    1. I have suggested a particular order of reading for a very good reasons (which are given), so I hope you are reading in that order.
    2. When you read the book read it from the very first page [i.e. before page 1] as each page has something important in it.

Leave a Reply

