Be creative

One purpose of existence is being creative.

Aquila

I spent a sleepless night cursing in frantic effort to prepare for an event the following morning with Aquila my board game. Being creative is sometimes painful work, as lots of things went wrong to conspire to sabotage my efforts.

In pouring rain I travelled with eight heavy Aquila boards to a Colchester venue in the rain.  Alternative transport was impossible as all the roads to the venue were closed.  Today the Olympic Torch visited Colchester in a relay on its way to the London Olympic Games.  Dozens of events were held in the early morning to commemorate the Olympic Torch, with Aquila being one of them.

At the event Aquila was played by modern Colchesterians, an ancient game that had been sleeping in a Colchester Druids grave for 2000 years.  Nobody knew the rules, but I was able to creatively put an interpretation of the rules together, and then reintroduced the game back into life. I am a type of Indiana Jones, where I like to reintroduce ancient artifacts back amongst the living, Aquila being one of them.

I spent 40 minutes standing in the rain ending in a ten second glimpse of a passing Olympic Torch; this is how it is with creativity, 90% work and strife ending in that magical 10% of experience that becomes our memory of that moment.  As the days pass I will forget the pain I went through preparing for this event, I will remember only the happy success.  Creativity is like that.

31 responses to “Be creative

  1. I like this! I hope to write a blog post on the history of cribbage, a game I LOVE. Cribbage anyone? 🙂

  2. Yes, we go to great lengths to bring forth our creations; good for you in doing this. I saw the torch go past our house in the build up to the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. It was snowing, and quite festive – a lot better than a downpour.

    • The funny thing is that the turnout in the rain was better than it was last week on a warm day in the Colchester carnival. The streets were packed with spectators, children waving flags. It had the feeling of the Queen of England passing through.

      • Vancouver was one big party for two weeks while the games were on. People from many different countries thronging the streets, and all getting along well together. I was dreading it prior to the event, but ended up enjoying the atmosphere immensely.

      • Being the year of the Diamond Jubilee of the Queen this Olympics will probably be the same party atmosphere for London too.

  3. How is Aquila played?Have you blogged about it before?I’m sorry I came in a bit late.

    • I have mentioned Aquila a few times on this blog. I will put the rules onto this blog in a future post.

      • I’d love to read the rules.
        I also enjoyed reading about the druid’s grave.I didn’t realize that so little might be actually known about them.I just know of them from from Asterix comics I read and assumed that their culture might be well known in England.Something like how modern Indians can find many similarities with the culture of the Harappans.

      • The problem with the Druids is they never wrote their ideas down until later in the Christian era. It is possible to get an idea on Druidic beliefs from looking at multiple sources.

      • How far back in history did the druids appear?

      • It is my opinion they were the same “priests” who existed on Orkney in 2500 BCE (so near 5000 years).

        http://www.orkneyjar.com/archaeology/2012/01/10/resurrecting-orkneys-neolithic-priesthood/

      • Thanks for the link,it was very interesting reading,It is surprising why British archaeologists should be so resistant to accepting that their ancients might have had some sophisticated knowledge.After all other contemporary civilizations had the same or similar knowledge.

      • It is of little surprise to me. Archaeology tends to be stuck in rigid ways of thinking that can be difficult to challenge. Once it was believed that ancient man was incapable of art, which after a fight and many discoveries of cave paintings was dispelled. There has been a bias against neanderthals as being dumb brutes, which is also being challenged by ongoing discoveries, including they are doing cave art.

      • What surprises me is that British archaeologists seem to be more disbelieving with respect to their own history than that of other’s.Why can’t the ancients of the UK be capable of what the Harappans or Mesopotamians did?And the British were active in these digs too.

      • I am unable to say for certain why many archaeologists are like this, but it also impacts their ability to see the obvious, and they make many errors.

  4. The torch is passing through where I live tomorrow.. maybe I should try to get a game of Senet going! 🙂

    • I have been beaten at Senet more times than I have won it 🙂 Hopefully the weather is better for you tomorrow than it was in Colchester this morning.

      • No doubt we’ll get some rain and some sun over the course of the afternoon..!
        I’m looking forward to reading the rules for Aquila! 🙂

  5. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] I am sure that it was worth it.

    Thanks for another interesting blog!

  6. This was very interesting. Thank you for sharing Alex 🙂
    -Naima.

  7. Sounds like an interesting game. Rules soon? I’ve been waiting to see them. Ah, another believer in ancient Druids, what’s your reason for believing they were in the Orkneys? They were diffinitely in UK and Ireland by at least 3200 BCE, possibly before that. They certainly had a hand in the original mound of Silbury Hill. Oak, Hazel and Mistletoe, they didn’t have to write anything down for me to get their message. The latest news is that an archaeologist has come to the conclusion, that Summer Solstice Sunrise, and Winter Solstice Sunset seems to have been important at Stonehenge. Gerald Hawkins tried to point that out over fifty years ago. Perhaps I should send him my blog address, so he can check out some of the other things they were keeping track of there. But of course, my opinion would be considered biased, too many Celts and Druids show up there, while he wants nothing but death there, that’s his bias.

    • A priesthood existed in the Orkneys of high caliber, and as Druidry is the native religion of UK it makes sense they are linked.

      I am of the opinion that Stonehenge was a multi-purpose tool, so it is possible that many theories of how it was used is correct.

      I will provide the rules to the game in future posts, I like to keep the suspense going 🙂

      Thanks for your comment.

  8. Thanks for posting that link to the Orkney site. Found something there that ties in with the pages from the Book of Kells and the Book of Lindisfarne, and with something else I found last week. Was going to write about it, but was holding off. Now I know why, this clue is a great one! Just wish they would show more pictures of the ‘artwork’, probably lots more clues there which the archaeologists have not recognized.

    • The investigations into Orkney is in its early stages. There is decades of archaeology to be undertaken in Orkney. I wamt to get my hands on the DNA results for the early inhabitants of Orkney. Glad this link was of help.

  9. Some of the DNA that was up at Skara Brae came from Jasmine. She was found in Mureybet, which would be Syria today. Bryan Sykes talks about her descendents and calls them ‘ocean going Jasmines’. They were sailing around during the Neolithic. I think this DNA came from one, or both of those women found buried in the stone cist which is under the floor of house 7. They say the lid was carved, would like a picture of that. For them to sail to the Orkneys, would have made it after Doggerland was flooded over, otherwise you’d have to go all around England and round the top of Scotland. But there were navigators up in Scotland very early on, possibly before Doggerland disappeared, and they did go to the western, northern and eastern sides.

Leave a Reply

