Bridge of Fear

Your imagination can increase or reduce your fear.

Conquering my bridges of fear.

In Edinburgh, Scotland, there is a famous rock called Arthur’s Seat.  According to local tradition those that manage to climb and sit at the top of  Arthur’s Seat will become king of England.  Any dream I had of being king of England died half way up Arthur’s Seat when I froze, defeated by my fear of heights.

Most people have a fear, and the fear increases if you are a visual thinker, as your brain plays out visual horror stories of what could happen to you.  This happened to me crossing a bridge last week over a great height as cars hurtled below.  My imagination treated me to pictures of the bridge collapsing, me being blown off the bridge, and me going under the tyres of large lorries. It was hard crossing that bridge, my heart racing, crouched, trying to ignore the horrors below me.

My fear of heights was so bad I was unable to climb up the type of metal stairs found on the outside of buildings without freezing.  I used my imagination to visualise a giant hand that was protecting me as I climbed the stairs.  I was able to conquer my fear of climbing the stairs in this way.

Beyond our conscious self our subconscious has a suggestible sense of reality; the hypnotist can bypass our conscious self and place suggestions of reality into the human mind that the subconscious will believe.  Via our imaginations we have a direct link to our subconscious, so we can either increase or decrease our fears depending on the pictures we put there.

18 responses to “Bridge of Fear

  1. [ Smiles ] By doing the things that we fear causes those fears in particular to lose their power.

    I have to admit that it is a lovely post, Alex.

  2. Great post, really interesting idea about imagining being protected.

  3. Alex, very insightful. Thanks, Paul

  4. One of my daughters has told me she plays the “what if” scenario quite often. Fears can paralyze, as you state. She, like you, complete the “what if” by adding the positive outcome or assistance necessary.
    I’m an oddball, I have no fears and that can be bad sometimes. I am, however, realistic enough to be cautious in certain situations.
    We’re limited only by the limits of our thoughts and imaginations. To imagine a guiding hand is fantastic. And doing this once, makes it easier the next time and so on, until it becomes habit! 😀 Great post.

  5. Great link to Arthur’s Seat, btw. Thanks.

  6. Like attracts Like. You and I share the same fear (acrophobia)…

  7. LOVE Edinburgh and am nominating you for the Versatile Blogger Award. It should be on my blog in a few minutes. 🙂

  8. I grew up with a terror similar to yours. when I took up hiking I drove people mad coming down steep slopes as I was so terrified of falling with a heavy rucksack. Somehow I got over it – people were really helpful, offering me their hands, but I think in the end I just got fed up with holding people up, and the many times I came down safely seemed to defeat the nonsensical fear. I became a rock climber. the terror makes no sense any more.

  9. Congratulations! U make it! Cheers, bro!

Leave a Reply

