The liberation of self-employment

Hard work, responsibility and risk all contribute to the liberation of self-employment.

working_bee

Bees inspire me.

One of the qualities I admire about bees are they are hard workers.  It is in those moments when I face a vast workload involving a campaign of non-stop hard work that I remember the humble bee, and I am inspired to focus upon finishing the task I am on, however hard it is.

The last month has been a hard month.  Since my last blog entry of 17th November I have been focussed upon completing several business contracts that has been challenging physically and mentally.  I completed the jobs in hand and invoiced the clients, yay! I am 14 lbs lighter in weight as a result.

Blogging had to take a backseat, for I had neither time or energy to spare for anything other than working, the business administration, eating and sleeping.  I am self-employed you see, which means I have no master, no boss telling me what to do.  I am my own master, but that means hard work, responsibility and some risk – or I starve.  As much as I like blogging no bills are paid by me blogging, and priorities must be to pay the bills.

I do recommend self-employment, for it is one way of becoming liberated; its tough, sacrifices have to be made, but if you play it right it has unlimited potential to achieve your dreams; and best of all you are liberated to follow a path of your choosing rather than play to the dreams of another.

Until the next busy cycle in January I am liberated to follow an activity I love, which is blogging.

17 responses to “The liberation of self-employment

  1. Welcome back and congrats on your pursuit Alex.

  2. Good job on your accomplishments!
    As a business owner I can appreciate your insights.

    Bees can be very inspiring indeed, they are fascinating.
    I admire how well they work together for the good of the colony, each with their own roles.
    The bee hive is a very good model of an efficient business.
    I would not look to them however as a model for government, or societal structure.
    It would be a bit like a communist dictatorship, void of individual liberty.
    I know a lot about bees, I’m a second generation beekeeper in AZ. I have posted and will continue to post very interesting info about them.

    Merry Christmas,
    Happy Holidays,
    Sterling Miller

    • Hi Sterling, thanks, bees have certain qualities like their hard working nature that I admire. I agree, the bee hive is a bad model for humanity to copy. I hope to become a beekeeper in 2013.

      I wish you a healthy and prosperous 2013.

  3. [ Smiles ] Your blog is indeed correct.

    It is nice to read an article from you, Alex and my you have a fabulous December!

  4. Im self employed too 😀 Though for me december is harder, whilst january is a lighter month. Gotta work hard in both. I didn’t have time to blog either… 😀 But I love it

    Rhaunim

  5. For many years The Princes Trust has been using self-employment as one way of inspiring confidence in young people. See here http://www.princes-trust.org.uk/ The Trust has a fabulous record of success for young persons who, otherwise, would have had very little to look forward to.

  6. Hi! Bro, May you be Happy and Well! Cheers!

  7. Glad to have you when you can be here. Sincerely.

  8. A few more years of catchup, and I may do the same thing..self-employment…I have too much to carry now…debt to clear..expense reducing..then maybe that new sense of freedom.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

