Vision and Mission Statements

Defining who you are and what your purpose is in life helps focus your resources and choices.

Vision and mission statements help define who you are and where you are going.

Vision and mission statements define who you are and where you are going.

Trying to get to sleep my mind had other priorities, I was invited to an unwanted creativity brainstorming event as my mind wanted to know what my vision and mission statements were for my business.

A vision statement is where you want to be in the future.  Amazon has a vision statement as follows:

“Our [Amazon’s] vision is to be earth’s most customer centric company; to build a place where people can come to find and discover anything they might want to buy online.”

A mission statement is a declaration of why you exist, what your purpose is.  Ben and Jerrys has the following mission statement for its products:

“Product Mission: To make, distribute and sell the finest quality all natural ice cream and euphoric concoctions with a continued commitment to incorporating wholesome, natural ingredients and promoting business practices that respect the Earth and the Environment.”

Once my mind was allowed to review my vision statement, my mission statements, motto and values; plus turned my business into a large bird with the head and two wings representing three divisions of my business I was allowed to get to sleep.

Lesson here is that every individual can create a vision statement, mission statement(s), motto, values and a logo to represent your own self and life, to show to the world who you are.  Many animals have evolved colour and shape to display to the world who or what they are, so every human can do the same.

Another lesson is when creativity comes let it have its way and flow through you, by doing so you benefit as I now will from the uninvited brainstorming before sleep last night.

10 responses to “Vision and Mission Statements

  1. And did you develop your own mission statement? 🙂

  2. I would like to see that bird. Sounds like a marvelous animal.

    • I can visualise but I am unable to draw it. You have a great gift with sketching that I admire and wished I had.

      • You can draw with words. The form we give our thoughts is not important. Everyone had a different way to express himself. I like how you can express yourself in your blog. Having your vision in your head is most important.

      • Yes, you are right, words are my way to express myself. Good point about the importance of being able to visualise things in the head.

  3. Good for getting an idea of direction but often have to be reset!

  4. This is a good idea. It would help keep us focused in life.

Leave a Reply

