The trap of trying to control

Let go, let be, no control.

Live in harmony rather than control people and nature.

Live in harmony rather than control people and nature.

On visiting my local wood a year ago at Pitchbury outside of Colchester I made the mistake of suggesting a pond should be cleared of the wild vegetation around it.  “Why?” said my guide.  I realised my error of inflicting control upon wild nature.  Although to my eyes the pond looked untidy and chaotic, this was the sort of chaos that nature thrived upon.  Making a wild pond look beautiful would have devastated unknown numbers of animals and plants, inflicted stagnation and death on a pond ecosystem.

Scientists in the appropriately called “Journal of Wildlife Management” have called for half of the UK deer population to be shot each year to preserve trees.  As usual the experts and ruler needs to answer problems by death and destruction through control.  Apparently academics living in ivory towers of universities are being allowed to influence decision makers with intellectual opinion lacking wisdom.  Nature has its own means to control populations, in nature everything balances out to a natural harmonious order.  The same mentality is behind the plans to kill badgers, or proposals of killing grey squirrels.  Humanity is unable to let go, to let nature take its own course to find the natural balance, to heal itself.

The need to control extends to business.  Microsoft was recently fined by the EU for failing to provide a choice of other browsers with its own version.  Why must a business be forced to include a competitors products with its own?

It is worth watching out for all these proposals and tricks by the powers that be to control nature and people, it is amazing how much manipulation and control is going on when you wake up to it.  Control always ends in disaster.

9 responses to “The trap of trying to control

  1. Great point Alex. When I began clearing the field by my home I stumbled upon beds created by deer and a ground hog home. I had a vision of how I thought I would create the perfect seating area there under the shade of some trees but didn’t have the heart to displace the animals. I changed direction and chose to not disturb their habitat for my needs. I’m glad I did as the animals will get pretty close to us and have accepted our being closer to them. They watch us as much as we watch them.

    • Awesome, I wish more people had the same understanding attitude as you to nature.

      • I am very fortunate, my neighbors have the same views. One day tossing a bag of garbage in the dumpster a raccoon was spotted. It took a while to find something it could use to get out, it was a dolly. We were all out here cheering the raccoon on. When it came out it sat on the lip of the dumpster watching us for a few minutes before running off. The pride on the faces of my neighbors knowing they saved an animal was priceless.

      • You have great neighbours. I have saved a few animals, and I can identify with the wonderful experience your neighbours had making the difference for one little creature.

  2. Great point Alex.I confess to having a great love for Japanese Gardens,Why try to mimic nature in a tidy way when nature thrives best when given a free hand?

  3. I just wish more people could see the ‘Control’ and the ‘Manipulation’ going on… and we have all fell into the trap somewhere in our lives of thinking we know best… when Nature really knows best… every time, even if at times it seems harsh… it renews and re-balances because it adapts and evolves…. Which we all have to learn to do..

Leave a Reply

