You are significant

The moment you think you are nothing is the moment others will control you.

Someone did me no good last week suggesting everyone is insignificant in this universe, the problems too great to bother with.  This bleak attitude of this person reminds me of a quote in the children’s film Neverending Story:

Atreyu: But why is Fantasia dying, then?
G’mork: Because people have begun to lose their hopes and forget their dreams. So the Nothing grows stronger.
Atreyu: What is the Nothing?
G’mork: It’s the emptiness that’s left. It’s like a despair, destroying this world. And I have been trying to help it.
Atreyu: But why?
G’mork: Because people who have no hopes are easy to control; and whoever has the control… has the power!

There are billions of people who believe they are insignificant, who become apathetic, their hopes and dreams lost to the belief they are so insignificant to make no difference in this world.  The priest, the politician, the marketing men, they love people who feel insignificant, who are easy to control, to manipulate, to use and misuse. Because so many believe they are insignificant, humanity faces oblivion.

Who says I am insignificant? You? Me? This universe? The one who would use and misuse me for their own ends would want me to believe I am insignificant.  I am significant to me.  I just drank a cup of water, my body will love me for that, water is good for me, I was being significant to me.

If I am significant to one person, or one animal, or one plant, I am significant to them, thus I am significant.  A man lost on the streets of Colchester suffering dementia in the cold, one who was unaware he was in Colchester; I was significant to him when I rang the police to assist him.  The distressed bird trapped in the bonnet of an unattended car; I was significant to that bird when I hunted down the car owner and helped release the bird.  The conker on the ground; I was significant to the horse chestnut tree it became when I planted it in the ground as a child, Google Earth shows me what a fine tree it is becoming, a haven for little animals.  I am significant.

Albert Low, CEO of My Duc Ceramics in Vietnam runs a sustainable business; he visited Colchester as a mature student at Essex University, giving a sustainability talk in November 2012 at Essex University.  Though I was environmentally focused, the word “sustainability” was an alien word corporates used.  I was a face in the crowd, I never spoke to Mr Low, he would never recognise me.  He was significant to me, he blew my mind away; a lightning bolt that changed everything, changed the focus of Liberated Way, added a sustainability focus to my business.  His talk created a ripple of change, his ripples that impacted me will impact some of the readers of this blog, and those ripples will go on to impact others.  Albert Low was a significant influence upon me, he never knew it, he will probably never know it.

Here is an appropriate video of the boy and the starfish (84 secs long):

17 responses to “You are significant

  1. Reblogged this on Spirit In Action and commented:
    I love this post! Thank you Alex for writing it. Not only did its innate wisdom and rightness uplift my heart, but I finally understand something I’ve often wondered about. I could not understand why I react so badly to conversations on my spiritual group that say we have to kill our ego and become Nothing, and emptiness. I adored that movie as a child, and to me I think the Nothing will always be that entropic bad guy and not something to erase myself into for enlightenment. I don’t feel that enlightenment is becoming nothing really, it is becoming fully oneself, at one with All That Is. Which is quite a lot more than nothing really-and a lot more fun;-) The peace of awareness resting in the void is good for relieving stress, but I don’t think it is the goal.
    I love Maude in Harold and Maude when she gives Harold the lecture about taking action, grabbing life and living it all the way. Not only are we each significant, but each moment, each breath, each experience is significant.

    We could be in the void, resting, blank and peaceful and nothing-but we aren’t, we are ALIVE! breathing, sighing, dancing, loving, reading, sharing, healing helping, building-how wonderful is that?!!?!

    • Thanks for sharing with your readers. I reject the idea that people must kill their ego, it is a part of who we are, to be embraced. Problems associated with ego is about lack of balance in my opinion.

  2. Amazing post and video, thanks!

  3. that is a great post full and significant to me ! merci

  4. Pingback: You are significant | They Say it's in the Genes

  5. Fantastic analogy, I have reblogged an intro

    AV

  6. Thank you for another beautiful post. You are right, those who feel empowered are harder to control. Maybe we should work on empowerment as much as we work on happiness.

  7. Wow! Alex, thank you for that. It has left a mark on me as well. Paul

  8. Alex you are significant… We all are… and each one of us with our small insignificant thoughts, actions and deeds, will make a huge significant change upon the world.. So Lets keep making those footsteps count… One foot in front of the other..
    Brilliant Post!
    Sue

  9. Utterly and completely agree – and I just loved the starfish story. Thank you so much Alex. A beautiful post 🙂

Leave a Reply

