Being your own brand

Create and manifest your own story to the world.

Logo of the Liberated Way.  The sun is prosperity, the bridge is creativity, wisdom and liberty.

Logo of the Liberated Way. The sun is prosperity, the bridge is creativity, wisdom and liberty.

I proudly picked up my hooded sweat shirt and two t-shirts yesterday emblazoned with the name and logo of my business.  The colours are sky-blue, the logo a raven in flight.  I created my own personal story, with the logo, colours and words, a story that reflected my outlook, dreams and philosophy of life.  Living my dream, rather than the dreams of others has always been my goal in life.  Why wear the expensive dreams of others in the form of Nike or Armani  when you can wear your own bespoke branding?

Technology has brought the ability to tell stories, and create our own brands down to the average person in the street.  Through our blogs and social media we carve out a story of our beliefs, dreams and hopes.  We add to these stories our photography, poems and drawings which then become our own personal brand, an authentic unique space in the world against conformity.

Even if we lack the skills to draw or manifest our own ideas, there are plenty of people out there who will at reasonable cost transform our visions into something tangible.  I have no talent for drawing, but I knew what I wanted for the logo of this Liberated Way blog, a bridge into the sun.  I commissioned an artist in my town to create the logo, and I can present this logo to anyone of dozens of printers in Colchester who can print it on anything from pens to t-shirts.  It is a blessing for the small person to match the great corporates in building personal brands and stories, it is no longer the province of those with a large bank balance.

13 responses to “Being your own brand

  1. The logo is beautiful! I agree that adults and especially younger people and children should be encouraged to create and become their own brands. Sometimes I notice that for the price a teenager paid for a so-called designer T shirt or skirt (with a designer’s name or logo on it), they could have bought a sewing machine and learned to create a bunch of garments unique to them.

    • Thanks for your feedback Wambui.

      I would love to see younger generations encouraged to think for themselves, to create their own branding rather than be enslaved to following other people’s branding.

      As you noted it is outrageous the prices charged for a brand name like for instance Nike.

  2. I like the logo, it helps the mind see possibilities ahead, the bridge leads the eyes onwards and the sunshine suggests optimism and joy.

  3. Wow, this line – “Even if we lack the skills to draw or manifest our own ideas, there are plenty of people out there who will at reasonable cost transform our visions into something tangible,” spoke directly to something I was thinking about. So this was lovely to read.

    I also really like your logo. I like the personal story you’ve created.
    I imagine it must feel great to see items in three dimension expressing your dream.

    Funny, your blog has always felt like a very particular story — yours individually. Do that on purpose?

  4. Loved your new logo.. and we each of us are unique so why not each have our own unique brand.. 🙂 You have set my mind a ticking away! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Alex, your logo I found beautiful, but now that I know the meaning behind it I will see it differently each time I see it.

Leave a Reply

