Philosophy of improvement

The philosophy of kaizen.

Through kaizen you can examine every link in a chain of activity to improve it.

Through kaizen you can examine every link in a chain of activity to continuously improve it.

Japan has a philosophy called kaizen, which mean “good change” but those that apply the philosophy usually define it as “continuous improvement”.

In the West the obsession is with “command and control” in a deterministic system.  Nature however is non-linear, always in flow and change.  Life evolves constantly to survive in an environment that the only constant is change, adaptation is the difference between life or extinction.  Kaizen reflects nature, thus the individual, business or nation that adopts kaizen has a distinct competitive advantage over those that prefer the “command and control” approach.

I have adopted kaizen into my life and business.  I offer you three examples of how I applied it.

Blogging

I changed blogging theme a few months ago leaving the Blog Awards page in a chaotic mess. I recently eliminated images and excess words whilst using the html unordered list function to organise and for easier handling of the layout. Readers can now read the page more easily.

Bank Account

Santandar was my old business bankers, who know how to sell financial products but have little understanding of business owner needs.  Santandar provided me with lifetime free banking, but over time had become increasingly less customer friendly, inefficient and were making mistakes causing me problems.  It was time to say goodbye to Santandar and I fired them, moving over to HSBC bankers who offered 18 months free banking and know the needs of the business customer.

Cut Mobile Phone costs by half

I have been examining all my business and personal expenditure for savings.  I use a pre-pay phone with EE.  On investigation I found that EE offer a range of pre-pay packages without contracts, I chose a package called Racoon that cut my mobile phone call costs immediately by half.

11 responses to “Philosophy of improvement

  1. Alex, I too made a few changes. I switched to a small local bank with great customer service, canceled my renters insurance when I realized how little it would cost to start over compared to what id given to the insurance company over the years. I gave up my cell phone company to switch to the company my son works for when he offered me an unlimited plan for $10 per month on his employee plan.

  2. Hey, Alex, thanks, this was an easy read and I’m interested learning more about the philosophy. Part of the beauty of life is continuous change, and to appreciate and even welcome it, makes a life more full and meaningful. 🙂
    I noticed immediately when you changed your page format, and like it very much.

  3. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] Nicely done, Alex. We cannot make progress without positive change!

  4. On a tangential note, our new home (new to us) here in Oregon is very slowly becoming more as we would like it. Historically, I have not been good at tidying up around me if it can’t be done in 10 minutes! – metaphorically speaking. However, there were some major clearing up jobs left by previous tenants and then a house that was empty for a couple of years. To my surprise I have discovered an unknown pleasure in doing little bits of tidying each day, or even on a ‘as and when’ basis.

    So turning a job ‘that must be done now’ into something more akin to a ‘change journey’ has been very liberating.

    • This is a wonderful way of approaching challenges. Turning large challenges into a “change journey” often appeals to the mind and makes the journey positive and motivating, not to mention you get results.

      • pouchmaster

        Yes. Sometimes taking on some things is better just for the learning experience itself, rather than just entirely writing something off just because others say it’s a waste of time.

Leave a Reply

