A lesson in sacredness

Nature teaches me about the meaning of sacredness.

For this moment a bee and flower became important to each other, a sacred experience meaningful only to them.

For this moment a bee and flower became important to each other, a sacred experience meaningful only to them.

Earlier this week nature taught me a lesson.  You could say this was a lesson about the birds and the bees.  A cat sprung in front of me catching a bird, I reacted by frightening the cat, the bird flew to freedom. Later, a bee upon the concrete ground in front of me, I moved to a flower.  At the time I was contemplating my relationships with people, the bird and bee seemed to impart to me a lesson on sacredness.

In 2011 the UK Government forced upon its citizens an intrusive census asking amongst its many questions my religion. Illegally I refused to participate in the census, and was one of millions missing from that census, which I got away with without being prosecuted.  I hold my spirituality as sacred to me, it is none of anyone’s business what my spirituality is, especially my nosy Government.

Sacredness is an existential experience felt by the individual.  I, the bird and the bee entered into a sacred relationship.  This sacred experience was meaningful to me, but is meaningless to anyone else, which is why some may have interest and most won’t care what I experienced with the bird and bee.

In The Little Prince a fox explains to the prince that amongst all the billions of roses one rose was special to that prince; it was a tamed rose; both prince and the rose had taken each other into themselves, it was a sacred relationship that made the rose special to the prince in a way that was different from all the other roses; rose and prince needed each other, a deep connection of meaning, that if one vanished the other would be left with a gaping hole in themselves.

Sacredness is a walled garden, a meaningful experience inside the self, which has no meaning to anything but the self and that which is part of the sacred experience.  My spirituality is a sacred connection with self, nature and my ancestors, it is of no concern to others, or my Government.  There is a sacred connection between rose and prince, and is of no concern of others. I experienced a sacredness between St Davids Cathedral in Wales and myself a few years ago, nobody else cares or needs to know of my existential experience with St Davids.

I have become sacred to bee and bird because in their little minds everything is one, and I am part of that experience of oneness, thus I am part of the bee and bird, significant because I had enhanced their existence in some way.  My imagination gives me a different consciousness to the bird and bee, I have a sense of I as separate from the universe; the bird and bee which connect to the whole universe connects me to the universe in my sacred relationship to themselves.

Spirituality is about being rooted, connected to self, ancestors and nature.  You tug at a blade of grass the whole universe is tugging back.  Since you are part of the universe, you do harm to an animal, you do harm to yourself; if you ignore the suffering of a living thing, you disconnect yourself from everything.  The rootless human is without connection to the universe, they enslave themselves to superficial appearances and material objects such as money, cars and lipstick.  Rootless people disconnect themselves from nature, these people are blind to nature, self and ancestors; disconnected people feel no sacredness, they walk around as empty shallow creatures sickening everything they touch. Sacredness is about connection, and it is a sacred experience of one with the universe.  The bee and bird gave me a brief connection to the whole universe, and an important lesson in the meaning of sacredness.

26 responses to “A lesson in sacredness

  1. funny how when the individual and the state have differing interests it is a crime.

  2. Another great post, Alex.

  3. I heart you Alex. I hope you stick around forever. Extraordinary post and one which says things I feel really strongly about but couldn’t find the words with which to share that.

    *Thank-you friend.*

    Reblog.

  4. Reblogged this on Archaic Sugar and commented:
    My response to nosiness about my religion/spirituality, put beautifully by another. Powerful read. Thank-you Alex. Again.

  5. I loved this, Alex. I live where most people identify themselves by what church they belong to. I have never understood this, as spirituality (quite different from religion) is such a personal thing. There are many things I ignore and feel is none of my business. I still remember been a teen and being asked personal questions about the person I was just beginning to date. What does his parents do for a living, what is his mothers maiden name, how old is he. what church does he attend, etc. I only date someone when I feel a connection due to shared interests so never thought to ask any of these questions. I still get a lot of flack when refusing to acknowledge a denomination in medical questioning, but I stick to my values and refuse to say anything other than “none” as my way of keeping my privacy. I feel like a stranger so many times as a result it is nice to see you standing up for your privacy in this area. Thank you.

    • There is a significant difference between religion and spirituality, but I have always found it challenging to put into words.

      It takes strong will to go against the pressure to conform, and the price authority figures can inflict upon those that resist their will can be harsh. Rather than fight I used a taoist strategy and became elusive i.e. never answered the door or was away when the census officers called. People should not have to be put into this position by their own Government, it is annoying.

      I am glad you protect your values, it gives you integrity and strength, which others will rip out of you given half the chance.

      • I did encounter many problems with my family when I was younger, but as my children grew they saw how I hid my beliefs even around my own home and encouraged me to quit hiding. While I still keep my beliefs private having items around my home or acting on my belief systems has been freeing.

        I’m sorry you had to hide from census workers. I had one who was pretty insistent, here we were threatened with fines if we didn’t answer our door.

      • I think the home is a sacred place where there is liberty to be more expressive of beliefs than in the outside world.

        Census laws carry criminal records and heavy fines here in the UK. Being invisible was the best strategy for me in this situation.

  6. Wonderful post Alex. Nature is sacred.

  7. Alex I loved this posting, you speak the truth of the lesson in sacredness.. When that census came around I put that I was A Spirit of the Universe.. 🙂 and agree with your comments … When I go to the hospital for eg: they ask your religion, they real off the list, and I say well I am a Spiritualist..and they once had the nerve to just tick C of E.. I made the redo it.. and they put Other…

    Enjoyed reading and your connection that day to the Bee

  8. Pingback: A lesson in sacredness | Simply Simplistic Complexities

  9. “You tug at a blade of grass the whole universe is tugging back.”
    I love this statement. You should make this a quote! It is so true! Love blog you have. Thank you for commenting on my blog. I am following you now!

  10. Pingback: 3:54 am. And Inspired. – Lead.Learn.Live.

Leave a Reply

