The importance of boundaries

Changing boundaries impacts how living things react to their environment.

I acted as a human-boundary to keep this Colchester hedgehog safe from cars without touching it.

I acted as a human-boundary to keep this Colchester hedgehog safe from cars as it crossed a busy road.

I achieved a life-time best of over a hundred insect bites upon my body after spending a few hours in woods picking up litter on Sunday.  Mosquito and flea enjoyed a blood feast that made my life miserable with itchy ugly blotches on my arms, legs and waist that tortured me for several days.  The little beasts gave me a new painful lesson about boundaries.

The insects busted my personal boundaries to inflict harm upon me.  I thought how unfair that I clear litter with the reward of insect torture upon my body.  Every challenge has a hidden blessing, in my case a lesson on boundaries.  First change was I no longer differentiated between nature and people, both were as likely to opportunistically parasite upon me, thus boundaries were important in both cases.

I realise it is in the nature of mosquito and flea to opportunistically parasite on the blood of other animals, they need to in order to survive and reproduce.  I also realise that these insect vampires contribute in their own ways to healthy ecosystems including as food to other animals and as pollinators.

I spent time on the internet researching strategies against mosquito and flea, learning that many attack strategies do harm to the ecosystem and other species, for instance mosquito traps also kill moths, which are pollinators and food for bats.  If I was to inflict harm upon flea or mosquito beyond personal defense I would do harm to the ecosystem, have limited impact and be attempting to control nature.  I realised the most effective strategy against parasitic insects is boundaries, a strategy that blocks, repels or makes me invisible to them.

Rather than interfere with the person of the insect, taking away their choice to follow their internal natures, I change or work with the boundaries of the environment the insect works in.  A few boundary changes I introduced was speeding up my litter picking so that the insects are less likely to make a successful landing on my person, wearing of clothing covering my arms, and experimenting with vinegar as an insect repellent.  The insect retains choice to attack me but I have introduced boundaries to block them.

Boundaries are good for instance if you wish people to stay out of an area, add a bull, wasp nests or thorns as natural effective barriers.  Boundaries can also encourage action, for instance to catch a potential swarm of bees leave a vacant beehive for them to set up home in.  Boundaries are effective for everything and everyone, change the boundary of the environment the entity lives in rather than the person of the entity to achieve prosperity.

After the sun set I stalked a hedgehog along a public footpath, as I attempted to take a photo of this elusive animal.  The hedgehog moved across a busy road with cars coming that would have crushed it.  Without interfering with the person of the hedgehog, I stood in the road as a human-shield forcing cars to stop and go round me and the hedgehog.  The hedgehog stopped in the middle of the road, I stood there aware I was at a boundary of death between wild nature and human civilisation, glad that one day oil will run out eliminating most cars from the road.  This hedgehog had no understanding of the danger of cars, and I gave it temporary safety knowing that next time the hedgehog may die.  I had created a temporary boundary to keep the hedgehog safe whilst it decided where it wanted to go, it travelled to the other side of the road, vanishing in its search for food.

27 responses to “The importance of boundaries

  1. Lemongrass essential oil works well as a repellent, and medical alcohol rubbed onto the bites certainly eases the stings and itches that come from the bites… just don’t smoke whilst applying…lol

  2. Eating garlic helps keep mosquitoes away as well. Nice post – I hate the “no limits” propaganda these days.

  3. Perhaps one day oil will run out (or no longer be used), but I am not sure if that will eliminate cars permanently from the road. However, there are new technologies that are building land bridges for animals to cross roads safely and there are new technologies for cars to run on other fuels besides oil (sunlight, water, electricity), and one day in the near future cars may be driverless; all of these changes may make it possible that animals will be safer as urbanization encroaches more upon their natural territory. These, too, can be boundaries.

    Some boundaries need to be removed, such as those illusory ones between countries, nations, states, neighborhoods, ideologies, general beliefs, and the like. One day, my friend, one day. 🙂

  4. We, too, use lemongrass essential oil to keep the mosquitoes away. It works even better mixed with eucalyptus and peppermint essential oils. To relieve the itch of a bite, apply a drop of lavender essential oil to the bite (which also works amazingly well for bee stings!).

  5. Arrgh sorry you got bitten but thankful that you saved the little hedgehog, we see far too many road kills on our travels….
    Hope you have a good evening Alex and weekend with less irritations of bites x

  6. If you follow this Link Alex this lady has a home made recipe using the ingredients and tells you HOW .. Enjoy Sue
    http://wellnessmama.com/2565/homemade-natural-bug-spray-recipes-that-work/

  7. LOVE that you had no fear of the cars or what the drivers would think of you as you protected that hedgehog. Wish there was more people like you 🙂

  8. But Reikiheidi because of people like Alex and you, I don’t doubt, and thousands upon thousands of others there will be more people like Alex. The power of love is infinitely more powerful than the power of hate.

  9. On behalf of the hedgehog I want to thank you. You are a good human. 🙂

  10. I am so happy for that poor little hedgehog, thank you Alex, as for the insects, near a river in holidays I got bitten many times. Thank you for picking up the litter too, you are making your world a better place. 🙂

  11. Pingback: The stupid pigeon | The Liberated Way

Leave a Reply

