Nature in the background

Nature provides a dramatic theatre if only people can see it.

I witnessed a dramatic moment of natural theatre as blackbird mother protected her young against a giant magpie.  Only I saw this free theatre, the rest of humanity was blind to it.

I witnessed a dramatic moment of natural theatre as a blackbird mother protected her young against a giant magpie. Only I saw this free theatre, the rest of humanity was blind to it.

It is a beautiful place in this Colchester square, the great water tower to my right, the Mercury Theatre in front, the many restaurants to my left.  Upon this seat, near blinded by the sun, a hot laptop, and another free wi-fi point, I take a temporary rest to enjoy a moment in the sun.

It is the Easter holidays, and many people parade past me, the children with their parents.  I like people watching, but I also have the sense of nature around me.  Sadly most of these people who walk by me live in a different world to me, they live in a world of facts, figures and material concerns, they are blind to the nature around them.  It is a blessing that I stand between two worlds, like the statue of Mercury who proudly runs atop the Mercury Theatre.  I see both the mundane world of humanity and the organic world of nature, both worlds wash over me like waves of the sea.

Nobody but I saw the battle that came about behind my seat.  The sudden commotion of a chattering female blackbird as a magpie appears.  There is a dramatic moment as the blackbird dive bombs the magpie that is twice its size, the magpie flees.  The theatre for humans in front of me, the theatre of nature behind me.  My intuition tells me there is a nest nearby, the eternal story of the mother defending her young.

6 responses to “Nature in the background

  1. Possibly, the theatre for humans all about us. But still that mundane world of humanity blind to how it could play out! Lovely post, Alex.

  2. Reblogged this on Replaygiarism and commented:
    A fantastic photo and lovely to read you write so fondly about Colchester.

  3. Each post seems to be more enjoyable, more insightful, than the last. How wonderful to read the eloquent words of one who sees beyond the every day world to appreciate the real one beyond in nature. Keep writing…

Leave a Reply

