Leaving things be

Letting things be allows nature to manifest its will and wisdom.

Left to be this apple blossom in my garden will manifest its will to bloom and its wisdom in the form of apples in the autumn.

With no intervention this apple blossom in my garden will manifest its will to bloom and liberate its wisdom in the form of apples in the autumn.

I am camping and I pitched my tent near an ant’s nest.  It is disconcerting as I write this to watch the foraging ants by the twos and threes invading my tent through the entrance.  It makes me itch and I worry for my laptop.  The ants are wandering around all around the inside of my tent, though their invading numbers remain small.

The spiders taught me to let the ants be.  Having spent some time evicting sixteen spiders one day from my tent, I decided to let the spiders be, it is too much trouble, more so evicting ants. Occasionally I have to intervene as I tried to evict the small frogs during a rainy night, which I chased round my tent in failing torchlight, I did not fancy squashing them in my sleep.  Generally it is too much trouble forcing my will upon unwilling animals and plants who want to express their own spirited natures in the spaces I share with them.

Non-intervention is a growing interest of mine, letting things be, to flow according to their own will.  Sustainability for me is about action in harmony with nature, so if there is no harm to me, why force my will upon animals and plants?  Indeed, the doors of wisdom open wide if I allow nature to flow in its own liberated way; a bee flew to my foot and then away into a crack in the ground, thus I learn I have a small bee nest in the garden.

5 responses to “Leaving things be

  1. The flow of nature that is all around us… in a tent one sees them easier but in a home they are probably there as well… as long as they leave me alone I leave them alone…

  2. Don’t step on that nest in the ground! I can be painful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

