The circle of life and death

Nature reminds me life and death is a circle.

The circle of life and death.

The circle of life and death.

I visit a house, the noise of hungry little birds emanating from a nest hidden in the roof, busy parents flying in and out feeding their brood. Less than a week before summer (1st May) I encounter life all about me, like a vast fountain of creativity, as plant and animal erupt into growth and creation.  I feel a sense of joy at the life all about me, like dipping my feet in crystal clear spring waters.

Amongst this carnival of life a reminder that with life there is also death.  Helix our cat is an effective hunter, a blue tit is found dead upon the ground.  I feel no sadness for the death, it is a natural part of the cycle of nature, my animistic viewpoint is of a small spirit returning to the source, and from then renewing.  No anger for Helix, since this is the nature of cats, despite being fed, a cat must follow the primal instinct of its nature to hunt.  I carry the dead blue tit to an overgrown spot of trees and grass, here I place the blue tit to decay and thus become part of the life of plant and animal of that place, such is the circle of life and death.

7 responses to “The circle of life and death

  1. Sad it is but very true. The cycle of life and death.

  2. All part of the natural order that, one way or another, is going to become very obvious to us humans relatively soon! Thanks Alex.

  3. The cycle of life has given me great comfort as I look at terminal illness.
    Marcy Westerling
    http://livinglydying.com/

  4. Pingback: The Natural order – life and death. | Learning from Dogs

Leave a Reply

