Flowers or diamonds

I value the gifts of wisdom more than diamonds.

Gifts of wisdom, born of sensory experience and action, are worth more than diamonds.  Gifts that are useful and last long after they pass into memory are priceless.

Gifts of wisdom, born of sensory experience and action, are worth more than diamonds. Gifts that are useful and last long after they pass into memory are priceless.

In the mind of the individual the diamond is an object of vanity and an intellectual judgement of value, if such people base my personal value upon objects of vanity and money then they shall never be my friend.

My friend has had a challenging ten days, so when I saw all the flowers reduced to 10% of their value after Easter in a shop I purchased five huge bouquets for a few pounds what would have cost £30.  I love the dramatic so I presented my friend with the surprise of one bunch of flowers, then one-by-one the others.  My friend’s home is overrun with pungent colourful high quality flowers.  Although the flowers cost me little, they are a gift of wisdom, for the next ten days my friend’s life is a little brighter thanks to the aromatic beauty of many flowers in her home.  The memory of my experiential gift of flowers yesterday rippling forwards over the next ten days through perfume and colour will remain with my friend for life.

My gifts have no high monetary value nor do they have any vanity associated with them, they are experiential, active and useful.  My friend finds it hard to mow the grass, so I do that, and thus for a time they enjoy the sweet smell and sight of their freshly cut grass.  The birds and other animals like the cut grass too as they can more easily navigate through it and find food. I share biscuits with the birds each morning, I fill a bird bath with water, so the practical enjoyment of the animals of my wise gifts resolves into my delight of watching them, and my photographs that end up on this blog.

Last night I ate grapes I purchased at 20% of their original price in the supermarket under the stars, listening to the night sounds, smelling the night perfumes of the flowers, enjoying the cool spring night.  This small free experience contrast against the highly stressful business that I run, acts as a small escape into experiential sensory wisdom.  Of limited monetary value my gifts to friend, self, plant and animal might be, but they are gifts that are useful, and they liberate wisdom that will last long after they vanish into memory.

4 responses to “Flowers or diamonds

  1. I agree with you, gifts which come from the heart are priceless ( even if we do not spend any money ) Monetary value is not relelvant for gifts, but the love we put in and we give it away with! Lots of people do not understand that though!

  2. Thoughtfulness is wisdom an interesting thought.

Leave a Reply

