Working with nature

Use nature to benefit you.

Of the original 13 I am now down to ten oak saplings, eight with leaves.  I am going to infect them with a beneficial fungus to improve their growth and survivability.

Of the original 13 I am now down to ten oak saplings, eight with leaves. I am going to infect them with a beneficial fungus to improve their growth and survivability.

Most people regard nature as the enemy they fight and control.  Few people are wise enough to work with nature, studying how nature works, then using the knowledge they learn for positive results.

I have ten surviving oak saplings, eight with leaves, two with roots but as yet no leaves.  I have discovered that there is a fungus called mycorrhizal fungi that has a symbiotic relationship with certain trees such as the oak, which help them obtain water in drought, boost their immune systems, helps them obtain nutrients from the soil, and even acts as a communication system between trees via the roots they connect to.  Oak trees supported by mycorrhizal fungi are resistant to disease and grow faster.

I shall this evening visit a local oak wood to obtain soil with the mycorrhizal fungus in it, then “infect” the soil in the plant pots which my oak saplings are growing in.  In theory I will use nature to assist in the survival and growth of my oak saplings.

2 responses to “Working with nature

  1. What fantastic advice. Somewhere in the distant corners of my mind I recall hearing this before. Wonder if other species of trees have their own symbiotic fungus?

Leave a Reply

