Know the apple, eat it.

Blogs that deny comment, deny themselves wisdom.

The brave gain wisdom by eating apples, the cowards gain nothing but ignorance.

The brave gain wisdom by eating apples, the cowards remain ignorant.

I visited dozens of WordPress blogs under the philosophy category, some apparently are ignorant about what philosophy means – “love of wisdom”.  How does one gain wisdom? You know the apple by eating the apple, the wisdom comes from sensory experiential activity.

Some of the would-be philosophers chose to disable comments on their blogs.  How does an individual gain wisdom after expressing their ideas on a blog unless they are brave and allow the opportunity for feedback? How can I know that ideas I share with the world are worthwhile unless I test them against the perceptions of others?  If a reader comments on a blog post it offers to me  self-reflection upon the ideas I shared, it is like eating an apple, for I am experiencing a reaction which results in wisdom.

Is it better to allow a child to run about in nature, fall over, experience cuts, bruises and stings through their activities of play, or lock them in the house all day, restricted to safe boring activities? Will the safe child be a happy wise child?  Those bloggers terrified that their ideas might be commented on, or dare I say challenged, will gain no wisdom.  I never read those blogs.

14 responses to “Know the apple, eat it.

  1. A blog without comments is like…an editorial. Open the comm boxes!

  2. I value the comments and interactions. I have learned so much from others. Whoever disables the comments is denying themselves and others so much. What a shame.

    • It is a sad situation, which for many of those that disable their commenting render their blogs useless to them since there is no opportunity for insight and growth through feedback.

  3. Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] Yes, I agree. However, if it is a link from someone else’s blog, it is okay for them to disable the comment feature; since all comments should be made on the original source.

  4. Strongly endorse your view. There is another bonus that comes from comments. I am speaking of getting to know other writers of blogs and developing some great relationships. I shall have been blogging for five years come July 15th and the one thing that has blown me away is the connections made to so many others via comments. Includes you, dear Sir!

  5. Black Westchester

    I agree with you 100%.
    I know only allow comments, I encourage them. I feel as a writer, if what I wrote provokes others to think, to discuss (even if they dont agree with what I wrote) to engage in coversation, then I’ve truly done my job as a writer. It is our job to educate, uplift and encourage others. I applaud you for this post

    • Thank you, if comments are made then most writers in my opinion appreciate that their work is valued. I consider blogging to be a two-way conversation, so it becomes one-sided if commenting is switched off.

  6. Yes Alex. Need flexible fencing for children…

  7. We learn and improve from feedback. By blocking comments bloggers, appear to be saying, “This is the truth, and there’s no need to discuss it further.” I’ve never been fond of parental “Because I say so” argument either.” I will admit, however, there are cases where both bloggers and parents need the ability to end debate.

    • This is where moderation of comments comes in useful, the abusive or spam can be eliminated. In blogs where there might be difference of opinion I enjoy the liberty to withdraw from the conversation, ending it.

Leave a Reply

