The sacredness of personal space

Your personal space is worthy of defending from invasion.

My garden fox sums up my disbelief at both the Brazilian massacre by Germany but also the enthusiasm of people to sacrifice their personal space so willingly.  I respect the personal space of my fox and I attempt not to disturb her when she visits my garden.

My garden fox sums up my disbelief at both the Brazilian massacre by Germany but also the enthusiasm of people to sacrifice their personal space so willingly. I respect the personal space of my fox and I attempt not to disturb her when she visits my garden.

Modern society is a highly intrusive culture, where too many people I know admit to using internet sites such as Facebook in order to poke their noses into the lives of their friends, family and associates.  On the one hand people have a narcissistic delight of drawing attention to their own person, whilst many others seem to live through the lives of others.

The recent semi-final of Brazil and Germany at the World Cup drew world attention to a grief-stricken boy who witnessed the humiliating destruction of his team by Germany.  The father of the boy reacted:

He also raised concerns about the intense media coverage his son was getting, saying that the boy’s weeping “belongs to himself only” – not to the world’s media. “What remains is a reflection on how a child’s sincere crying represents us all in an age of excess information, instantaneous emotions and artificial feelings.”

I define personal space as: body; personal information; home; mind; life; worldview; prosperity (health, happiness, abundance); dreams.  The personal space being sacred is worthy of defending against anyone and anything that seeks to invade it.

The modern world has evolved into a monster that has no respect for personal space, which it invades and then seeks to violate for its own benefit at the expense of the individual.  It is however the responsibility for the individuals to guard their personal space rather than the rulers, sadly most people no longer value their personal spaces nor that of others.  I have strong personal boundaries to defend my personal space, and I also respect the spaces of others.  I wish that more people would see how sacred personal space is.

14 responses to “The sacredness of personal space

  1. In essence, I agree with you, Alex. (And surprised, don’t know why, you aren’t on Facebook.)

    The challenge is in defining “personal boundaries” especially when we have so little control over the whole digital world. For example, I suspect that you and I and many other bloggers reveal much about themselves through their own writings that are shared digitally across the world.

    So does the judgment of what is our personal space come down to each individual? I suspect the answer is yes!

  2. I am on only one ‘social media’, Twitter, to advertsie new blog posts, I rarely participate. My profile merely lists me as an old man in Brazil, the rest of the information is my personal space.

    AV

  3. Alex, this is a thoughtful post. I’m definitely in agreement with you that our personal space is sacred, and, for me, being mindful about the boundaries I’m setting around it is vital. I try to give myself permission to set whatever boundaries I need to set to feel comfortable, even if that differs from what I perceive others to be doing. 🙂

    Your garden fox is beautiful. I love that you respect her space!

  4. The internet has its bad points its true. The prevalence of cameras makes all of us public personalities and many times we have to remember that whether we like it or not.

  5. This is so true Alex… I take no photos of people without their permission and then I explain why I’m taking it…

  6. Pingback: The Filipino Non-concept of Space | Aligning With Truth

  7. Pingback: The Need for Personal Space | Aligning With Truth

Leave a Reply

