Relating business to planet earth

Placing planet earth at the heart of a business.

My experiences in nature directly impacts how I run my business.  My relationship and treatment to planet earth is no different to that I have with my oak sapling.

My experiences in nature directly impacts how I run my business. My relationship and treatment of planet earth is no different to that I have with my oak saplings.

Summer, I camp a lot. I often evict wildlife from my tent, this morning it was a grasshopper. Sharing life intimately with wild creatures gives you a different outlook on life compared to most people.

In the garden I note my oak saplings are growing fast, needing larger pots.  I have cared for these oak saplings from acorns, of the original thirteen acorns, eight survived to grow into oak saplings. Caring for wild things changes your viewpoint.

I watched a video over the weekend about the relationship of the neolithic builders of Stonehenge and the River Avon, how they held the river as sacred, a source of all the animals which they hunted that came to the river to drink.  The reverence for water, the landscape, the animals of the Stonehenge builders is the same as that of the cave painters of Chauvet twenty-thousand years earlier who painted a stampede of animals coming out of a vulva-like water source in their cave.

I discover my values and personal insights from how I react to what I see and experience in the world around me. I reacted in anger at the greed and vanity of money investors in business ideas in the US reality television series Shark Tank on YouTube.  I reacted in dismay at the wasteful stupidity portrayed in a video on consumerism: people queuing for a week to get hold of the latest iPhone, whose only enhancement from the last was its colour; IKEA marketing telling consumers to throw out perfectly good possessions; Apple designing a new type of screw on its smartphones in order to prevent people repairing damaged phones, thus encouraging waste; the extensive scams brands go to called obsolescence to make objects the consumer buys break quickly increasing waste and needless replacement.  The contempt the modern economic paradigm has to this planet is at odds with our human ancestors, and at odds with my worldview.

I am part of a new business paradigm, where I can compete against rivals on equal terms with innovation and clever strategies, but where I care for the planet earth in the same manner as I cared for the grasshopper this morning and my oak saplings.  In thinking on these matters in the garden this morning, my garden fox Amber appeared, yawned, then went to sleep in the sun.

18 responses to “Relating business to planet earth

  1. Reblogged this on Writing Out Loud and commented:
    Important thoughts

  2. Alex, going to link you to another blogger just as soon as I’m in front of my PC. Great post, by the way!

  3. Love the post Alex…

  4. Your saplings are looking strong Alex.. and sadly we go through a bag of mixed emotions as we view the way of the world Alex.. Its good to know your garden fox Amber is still around… maybe you should look up the animal totem of Fox and Grasshopper 🙂

  5. Love your close Alex…

  6. Pingback: Five years old! | Learning from Dogs

  7. Your mentioning of your oak saplings and the picture reminded me of a story my mum told me about her late brother. When he was a young boy he planted an acorn in the garden where they lived and by the time they moved to another home some 16 years later the acorn was a little oak tree of about three feet high. A lovely memory about a missed sibling. I shall tell my mum about your saplings, I’m sure she will smile.

  8. There are barely any grasshoppers near me, I think because the fields are cut early. Lucky you finding one in your tent!

Leave a Reply

