Leaving wild animals alone to co-exist with us

Having detachment is better for wild animals and humans

During my meetings with Amber my garden fox I kept a distance even if it proved inconvenient at times.

During my meetings with Amber my garden fox I kept a distance even if it proved inconvenient at times.

A wild fox is visiting my garden in the night, though I have yet to know if this is Amber, who has been elusive or missing for at least two months.  During the time I knew Amber I kept a distance, she became used to me so that I could take many good photographs; sometimes I talked to her to calm her if we came upon each other by surprise, but I never interfered with her, fed her or attempted to touch her.

People forget that wild animals are no pets, and they are capable of looking after themselves.  Providing animals with opportunities such as wild birds with a water bath and feeding stations is good, but wisdom needs applying so that both humans and wild animals suffer no harm from dependency or over familiarity.  Feeding a fox chocolate for instance would kill it, the wrong type of food is giving hedgehogs diabetes.

This video on YouTube shows an ignorant human coming across a sleeping baby deer in a cemetery.  This supposed cute video shows a baby deer that the human awoke, showing evident distress and running away.  The human is oblivious to the situation they are creating by becoming too involved with a wild animal, driving an animal off so making it harder for its mother to find it, risking an attack on the human from a mother deer if it is in the vicinity.

Enjoying wild animals from a distance whilst they express their wild nature in a liberated way free from human interference is a blessing, and is the best way for humanity and wild animals to co-exist in harmony in nature.

7 responses to “Leaving wild animals alone to co-exist with us

  1. You are right although I must admit that we started to put food (cob) out for a young deer that had an injured leg. It was limping badly and vulnerable to coyote attack. I freely admit we are interfering with the natural order of things.

  2. Well, if we want rewilding, and we need it, we will have to interfere, as we did the other way. As we speak fungi are introduced in England to interfere with rampant vegetal invasion.

  3. Indeed, one should not add error to error. Humanity has been the dominant factor in the biosphere’s evolution for at least a million years. The quasi total absence of megafauna in the British Isles being one example.

    Authorities in England, confronted to that invasion along river banks had absolutely no choice.

Leave a Reply

