My cat liberates me from the machine

Technology often separates rather than brings people together.

I wrote this blog post whilst being hassled by my cat Pebbles, who is going nuts for the juicy meal I am eating and sharing with her.  Machines can never beat relationships with a living being.

I wrote this blog post whilst being hassled by my cat Pebbles, who is going nuts for the juicy meal I am eating and sharing with her. Machines can never beat relationships with a living being.

The cat stood on my laptop, then curled up, went to sleep.  I was working at that laptop until that moment.  I looked at the contented sleeping surreal furry thing that ended my ability to work at my computer moments before.  It was cold and the animal used the laptop as a warm place to sleep.  Rather than tapping at plastic keys I was stroking the fur of a living creature.

The sleeping animal on my laptop offered to me an opportunity to reflect upon our love for technology against our relationships with living people and creatures.  The dependency for social media to connect seems to drive people further apart, a growing attitude that relationships separated and run through a gadget or website, managed, controlled and run at the individuals own convenience is now considered normal.

Modern society drives families, friends and communities apart, glued together by a text message, Facebook page and Skype, monitored, recorded and then used against everyone by government and corporate to control and manipulate society.  Gone are the days of letter and telephone to connect loved ones, such actions involved intimacy and work, too much for many people who run their relationships on the fly between the events of their fast paced daily life, now it is instant, public, with little thought or work involved.

Few people experience liberation from the machine by their cat sitting and falling asleep on their laptop, but for me the sleeping cat offered me a reminder, which I shall never forget, that the relationship with living people and creatures is more interesting than through machines.

10 responses to “My cat liberates me from the machine

  1. My cat is a frequent interrupter of laptop working (also television watching, reading, sleeping, and many other things). I liked this post a lot and the reality of online engagement rather than through more old fashioned means is something I’ve been dwelling on recently too and considered in my last blog post (http://fearofthereaper.com/2014/09/25/the-virtual-unreality/). I think that, like so many things, technology is wonderful in moderation.It’s just a shame that many of us, myself included, have a tendency to overindulge

  2. Happiness comes from love. A machine can’t love you but a cat or a dog most surely can.

  3. Cats somehow just know when you could do with a cuddle.. Lol.. And your post is a great reminder Alex of what is important in life.. I would say Cat cuddles every time.. 🙂

  4. Speaking of being liberated, Kitty the next door cat, has just come in. I am liberated. 🙂

    AV

  5. Cats are often helping us when they interrupt our work and sleep on our keyboards. We just don’t often see it as ‘helping’ at the time 😉 I hope in my next life to be more like a cat.

Leave a Reply

