Building a simpler life

Simplicity allows more resources for the important things in life.

All living things are perfect energy systems that use simple energy efficient processes towards their goals of living, growing and reproducing.

All living things are perfect energy systems that use simple energy-efficient processes towards their goals of living, growing and reproducing.

All living things are highly effective at ways to use their energy resources in the most efficient way.  The trees in my garden shed their leaves because it is more energy-efficient without leaves in the dark winter months.  All living things focus their energy to live, grow and reproduce along the line of least resistance to get the most profit out of their limited energy resources.

Mark Zuckerberg the CEO of Facebook recently answered questions about why he commonly wears the same grey t-shirt most of the time, he answered:

“I really want to clear my life to make it so that I have to make as few decisions as possible about anything except how to best serve this community.  I’m in this really lucky position, where I get to wake up every day and help serve more than a billion people. And I feel like I’m not doing my job if I spend any of my energy on things that are silly or frivolous about my life.”

Zuckerberg seems to have developed an art form of keeping his life simple so that he can concentrate on the things that really matter to him.  If you keep a diary of your daily events I am sure you would be shocked at the time wasted on trivial things like getting dressed.  This is something I am slowly doing, rather than wear other people’s branded clothing, I wear my business branded clothing such as t-shirts and hoodies, and most of the time that is all I will wear.  Like Zuckerberg I have no desire to waste my life thinking about what I should wear each day.

I have this principle: “The Unity of Purpose,” which is to say that on your desk should only be those things that solve the problem you are working on, all else is junk and should be eliminated.  Unnecessary action, information or objects that have no purpose in solving a problem in your work space will waste your resources and obstruct you, better to get rid of them.

Simplicity is natural and offers opportunity for you of being able to focus upon the things that matter to you in life.

21 responses to “Building a simpler life

  1. Pingback: Aligning With Simplicity — Adapting To Island Living | Aligning With Truth

  2. The Gospel of Barney

    Oh to live the simple life in this increasingly complex age, Makes me understand the monks in their monasteries! But just by blogging we are participating in the complexity! Can’t let it stop us though.

  3. A fan of, subscriber to, and advocate for simplicity, whenever and wherever possible. Good content, Alex!

  4. I deeply believe in this philosophy, yet somehow my life has gotten away from me. My son’s calendar has become over-scheduled, and I’m struggling to find my own work/life balance. But… I see an end ahead to this craziness. Just a few more months, once I’ve seen through on a couple commitments I’ve made, and we’ll be back to a simpler, calmer lifestyle. I recommend the following book to all parents caught up in this crazy life… Fed Up with Frenzy: Slow Parenting in a Fast-Moving World by Susan Lipman.

  5. absolutely… i ditched a 3000 sq ft home for a little cabin in the mountains, did away with a well-paying career that required far too much time, stress and energy and now live cheaply and simply in nature… i don’t pull in much money anymore, but i don’t need that much anymore either, and i’m free to focus on my writing and what brings me real pleasure.. no big house to maintain, no piles of “toys” to distract me, just plenty of time to pursue what’s important to me… and it’s the simplicity that clears away mental distractions so you can discover what truly is important to you…

  6. Funny that I would return to your blog and see this post first. Today is the day that I unfortunately have to re-complicate my wardrobe. I am starting a new job tomorrow and they have a dress code of ‘business professional’. My wardrobe has always been very simple with comfort being important. I hope I can find some clothes that will fit the new role without being too far from my comfort level. This is the one thing I am dreading about this job.

  7. All of my life people used to make fun of me because I have very few clothes, and they all are the same. It’s because I didn’t want to make a daily decision about what to wear. Now that Zuckerberg has hit the big time, no one makes fun of me anymore.

    • People like to make their lives complex and thus less happier and effective, though they will laugh at those who have the wisdom and courage to try something different such as you, I and Zuckerberg have done. Well done!

  8. excellent Alex.. We are all in perfect alignment.. each on our own set course.. Wishing you well in your busy season..

  9. Just popping by to say, before the silly season really starts, to have a wonderful festive time and I hope you find your wish for a simpler life in 2015. If you do, please share it with us here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

