A happy 2015 to my readers

Wishing my readers health, happiness and abundance in 2015.

As a great start to my blogging for 2o15 I would like to introduce my readers to the work of the talented wildlife photographer Tanja Askani.  My good friend Paul of Learning from Dogs published a series of astonishing photographs by Askani of a rabbit and deer relationship.

The biography of Tanja Askani on her website introduces her love for animals and photography:

“I was born in Czechoslovakia and grew up in an industrial town of a Czech mining region. Love of animals was lived at home. My father taught me from the very beginning how to treat animals and how to take care of them respectfully. He always took abandoned, sick and “waste” animals back home and supported me in taking care of them until we had managed to find a new home for them

In 1990 I moved to Germany and managed to fulfill some of my smaller and bigger dreams. I began to work as falconer at “Wildpark Luneburger Heide” and meanwhile I am in charge of several packs of wolves which I hand raised by myself. Apart from my job I am a passionate photographer, write books and deliver lectures. The focus of attention to me is always the animal itself, and that we have to accept these creatures for what they are and free of moral adjudications and romantic prejudices. “

Askani’s various websites shows young animals in harmony with each other:

“…fascinating photos of animal friendships and encounters between foreign species. These encounters and friendships of the animals have come into being spontaneously, unconstrained by directives. There is no after work in studios, no dressage and no faking by photoshopping. All that is used is the photographic equipment, patience and a lot of time.”

Below is a video capturing some of her work:

26 responses to “A happy 2015 to my readers

  1. Alex, a very Happy 2015 to you and all your family, and all your readers. Thanks for the link across to my post – that’s very much appreciated.

  2. [ Smiles ] A happy and blessed 2015 to yo as well, Alex.

    I missed you and your great posts, my friend!

  3. Good to have you back online, Alex. This is a wonderful share and please consider your New Year greetings returned in abundance.

  4. A Happy New Year Alex, nice to see you back.

    AV

  5. Hey Alex,

    A very happy new year to you!! I missed you!

    Best Wishes,
    -Naima

  6. Hey Alex,

    A very happy new year to you!! I missed you!

    Best Wishes,
    -Naima

  7. Beautiful! Does the dog think it’s a cheetah? Or does the cheetah think it’s a dog?

    Or do they both realize that deep down, they are the same…? 🙂

    Happy New Year to you as well!

    Michael

    • The photographer is using young animals as their models because they are still trying to establish their own identities through play. I think the magic comes from the interactions of the young animals at play which are then captured by the camera.

  8. Welcome back, Alex! Wish you a very happy and blessed new year 2015!! 🙂

  9. Beautiful thoughts for the new year and brightest wishes for 2015.

  10. Amazing. Thanks for sharing Alex. Happy New Year.

  11. A beautiful post Alex.. and I got caught up in the video and the Website of Tanja.. I have saved to view later.. As I said upon Pauls post. its a pity we Humans can not forget our own differences and live in harmony as these animals have done..
    Blessings to you .
    Sue

    • The beautiful films and photographs of Tanja show why we should all give support to animals, who have as much right to our planet as we do. Her interactions with her wolves is inspiring too.

  12. Happy new year and thank you for the photos and video, absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

