Challenges and choices in nature

Interactions with nature is a play of challenges and choices.

This squirrel presents me with the latest challenge in nature: burying food in my oak sapling pots.

This squirrel presents me with the latest challenge in nature: burying food in my oak sapling pots.

My good friend Paul of Learning for Dogs reblogs a post about my oak saplings;  whilst reading that post, I catch sight of the local squirrel outside the window heading for my oak saplings to bury its nuts in the pots.

The squirrel is the latest challenge from nature, one that raises fear in me that my oak saplings will suffer harm from the squirrel’s activities.  I have stopped feeding the wild animals, because food is now abundant in these warm days, the last of the food, including nuts, I offer to the wild animals so it is not wasted.  The squirrel is using the food offered to it, burying the food in my oak sapling pots.

My initial choice is to recycle the nuts into the food waste, but the landlord of the property prevents me as they need to clean out the food waste bin.  I make the choice to wait, do nothing, let things flow for the moment.

The cat sees me at the window and meows. Another challenge. An invite to come into the garden with her. Another choice.

8 responses to “Challenges and choices in nature

  1. Decisions; decisions! 😉 Seriously, thanks for the mention and link, Paul.

  2. The good news is Alex the Squirrel is not eating your oak saplings.. And obviously thinks the energy within your pots will keep his hoard safe from harm.. 🙂

    lovely photo 🙂

  3. Cheeky squirrel – he knows a good safe place when he sees one! But I’m keen to know what you are going to do about the nuts he has buried in your sapling pots!

    • I decided to do nothing, because the squirrel is fortunately burying the nuts elsewhere, and the nuts are nearly gone. There is a lot of holes in the soil of my pots where the squirrel has buried the nuts, which I will remove. So far my oak saplings have survived undamaged.

Leave a Reply

